House Music 2024


Louise Norris

House News, News


On Thursday 14th March, all 6 houses took to the stage to perform a set of three pieces for our annual house music competition. Each performance consisted of a junior and a senior soloist as well as an ensemble piece featuring students from all year groups. In the week’s prior to the event each house also created a house song version of a popular song featuring the year 7’s and 8’s in the respective forms. The winning house song “Viva La Vida by Coldplay” performed by Page was shown during the interval. As ever with all of the performances, the quality was outstanding and brought the community spirit of each house to life.

This year’s adjudicator was Peter Foster, who is the regional manager for East Herts Music Service. He had the difficult decision of choosing the winners of each performance type, the best Master of Ceremonies and best Musical Director, as well as the overall winning house.

A summary of each house’s performances and the overall results can be found below:


Overall Results

1st – Page

2nd – Hale

3rd – Wallace and Kinman

5th – Croft

6th – Cowper


Category Winners

Best MD – Cowper (Sam Mo)

Best MC – Wallace (Benjamin Davis and Michael Hunter)

House Song – Page

Junior Soloist – Hale (William Moor)

Senior Soloist – Hale (George Kimberley)

Ensemble – Kinman (Breed by Nirvana)



MD – Sam Mo

MC – Max Dmitrov

Junior Soloist – Sam Brand (Cello) performing Spring Song by Frank Bridge

Senior Soloist – Holly Coleman (Vocals and Guitar) performing Linger by The Cranberries

Ensemble – Shay Stevens (Sax), Will Corrin (Electric Guitar), Jasper Snelling (Drums), Sam Brand (Piano), Sam Mo (Trumpet), Will Fox (Percussion), Max Dmitrov (Vocals), Louisa Safo (Vocals) and Holly Coleman (Vocals) performing Tennessee Whiskey by Chris Stapleton

House Song – Murder on the Dancefloor by Sophie Ellis-Bextor



MD – Zoe Smith

MCs – Ryan Drummey and Alex Brown

Junior Soloist – Janav Singh (Drums) performing Monkey Wrench by The Foo Fighters

Senior Soloist – Zoe Smith (Vocals and Piano) performing Read All About It, Pt 3 by Emeli Sande

Ensemble – Molly Guildea (Vocals and Guitar), Zoe Smith (Vocals), Amelia Brown (Vocals), Melissa Komodromou (Piano) and Alex Tatlow (Drums) performing Killing Me Softly With His Song by Roberta Flack

House Song – Shotgun by George Ezra



MD – Leo Homer

MC – Rowan Edwards

Junior Soloist – William Moor (Violin) performing Allegro by Shinichi Suzuki

Senior Soloist – George Kimberley (Vocals) performing Bring Him Home from Les Miserables

Ensemble – Rowan Edwards (Guitar and Vocals), Yuji Gregory (Drums), Ewan Bellingham (Keyboard), William Moor (Violin), George Kimberley (Vocals), Hanga Farago (Vocals) and Natalie Cason (Vocals) performing Do I Wanna Know? by The Arctic Monkeys.

House Song – Three Lions by David Baddiel, Frank Skinner, and The Lightning Seeds.



MD – Toby Bateman

MC – Raess Khan

Junior Soloist – Seyfettin Redif (Vocals) performing Set Fire to the Rain by Adele

Senior Soloist – Aleksander Snell (Flute) performing Sonata in A Minor (First Two Movements) by Handel

Ensemble – Peter Sharman (Vocals), Sonny Slark (Guitar), Benjamin Gardener (Bass Guitar) and Louie Cox (Drums) performing Breed by Nirvana

House Song – Blinding Lights by The Weeknd



MDs – Jack Anderson and Morgan MacGillivray

MC – Charlie Evans

Junior Soloist – Alfie Ambler (Piano) performing Experience by Ludovico Einaudi

Senior Soloist – Morgan Kramer (Bass Guitar) performing Sir Duke by Stevie Wonder

Ensemble – Tom Hawkins (Electric Guitar and Vocals), Morgan Kramer (Bass Guitar), Charlie Westney (Drums) and Quinn Cannon (Electric Guitar) performing Bartender and the Thief by Stereophonics

House Song – Viva La Vida by Coldplay



MD – Benjamin Davis

MC – Benjamin Davis and Michael Hunter

Junior Soloist – Devon Oakley (Piano) performing The Song of Twilight by Nakada

Senior Soloist – Samuel Ward (Guitar and Vocals) performing Stay by Me (self-written)

Ensemble – Benjamin Davis (Vocals and Drums), Finlay Stevens (Guitar), Samuel Ward (Vocals and Guitar), James Price (Keyboard), Sam Curzon (Backing Vocals), Michael Hunter (Backing Vocals), Aston Oakley (Piano) and Cameron Pitman (Clarinet) performing Everything by Michael Buble and Gravity by John Mayer

House Song – Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now by Starship